Skip primary navigation

FORMULA E

skip.tertiary.navigation

JAGUAR RETURNS TO RACING

In Autumn 2016, Jaguar will return to motorsport as a manufacturer with its own team in the third season of the exciting FIA Formula E World Championship. FIA Formula E is the world’s first global single-seater championship for electric powered cars.

ELECTRIFYING OUR FUTURE

FIA Formula E offers an exciting and unique opportunity for Jaguar to further its development of its future EV powertrain, including motor and battery technology.

Nick Rogers, Group Engineering Director for Jaguar Land Rover, said: “ I am proud to announce Jaguar's return to racing with an entry into the innovative FIA Formula E championship. Electric vehicles will absolutely play a role in Jaguar Land Rover's future product portfolio and Formula E will give us a unique opportunity to further our development of electrification technologies. The Championship will enable us to engineer and test our advanced technologies under extreme performance conditions.

It is my belief that over the next five years we will see more changes in the automotive world than in the last three decades. The future is about being more connected and more sustainable; electrification and lightweight technologies are becoming more important than ever as urbanisation continues to increase. Formula E has recognised and reacted to these trends and the championship's exciting and pioneering approach is the perfect fit for our brand.” 

Jean Todt, President of the FIA, said: “The FIA is pleased to welcome Jaguar as a new manufacturer to enter the FIA Formula E Championship. We built this series to offer an alternative competition for manufacturers to step into the sport and develop road-relevant electric technologies. The choice of Jaguar to come back to motor racing with Formula E is a proof of success. As it forges a path forward for the future of the electric car, Formula E managed to attract one of the most prestigious and historical brand across the automotive industry. I wish them success ahead of their arrival in 2016/2017”.

Alejandro Agag, Chief Executive Officer for Formula E, said: “We are delighted to welcome Jaguar into Formula E. Jaguar is a brand with a rich sporting heritage and the fact that it is returning to global motorsport with Formula E is a huge endorsement of the championship and its ability to influence the development of electric cars. Jaguar brings with it a passionate fan base that will drive the popularity of the championship across the world and once again shows that Formula E is the future of motorsport.”

To keep up to date with the development of the new Jaguar Formula E Racing Team, click below to enter your details.

Skip primary navigation

FORMULE E

skip.tertiary.navigation

JAGUAR REVIENT À LA COMPÉTITION

À l’automne 2016, Jaguar participera en tant que constructeur avec sa propre écurie à la troisième saison du Championnat FIA de Formule E. La Formule E est le premier championnat international de monoplaces électriques.

ÉLECTRIFIONS NOTRE AVENIR

La Formule E offre à Jaguar la possibilité unique de continuer de développer ses chaînes cinématiques électriques, y compris les technologies liées aux moteurs et aux batteries.

Nick Rogers, Group Engineering Director de Jaguar Land Rover, a déclaré : “Je suis fier d’annoncer que Jaguar revient à la compétition en participant au Championnat FIA de Formule E. Les véhicules électriques auront certainement leur place dans la future gamme de produits Jaguar Land Rover et la Formule E nous fournira l’occasion de continuer à développer les technologies d’électrification. Le Championnat nous permettra de concevoir et de tester les toutes dernières technologies dans des conditions extrêmes.

Je crois sincèrement que nous allons voir plus de changements dans le monde de l’automobile dans les cinq ans qui viennent que durant les trois dernières décennies. L’avenir est plus connecté et plus durable ; l’électrification et les technologies d’allègement sont plus importantes que jamais en raison de l’urbanisation croissante. La Formule E en est consciente et a réagi à ces tendances ; le championnat est pionnier et correspond parfaitement à notre marque. »

Jean Todt, Président de la FIA, a déclaré: “« La FIA est heureuse d’accueillir un nouveau constructeur, Jaguar, qui vient rejoindre le Championnat de Formule E. Nous avons créé ce championnat pour fournir aux constructeurs l’occasion d’y participer et de développer des nouvelles technologies électriques applicables au quotidien. La décision de Jaguar de revenir à la compétition dans le cadre de la Formule E est preuve de notre succès. En préparant l’avenir de la voiture électrique, la Formule E a réussi à attirer l’une des marques historiques les plus prestigieuses de l’industrie automobile. Je leur souhaite tout le succès en attendant qu’ils nous rejoignent en 2016/2017. »

Alejandro Agag, Chief Executive Officer de la Formule E,a déclaré: « Nous sommes très heureux d’accueillir Jaguar en Formule E. Jaguar est une marque riche en histoire sportive et le fait qu’elle revienne au sport international avec la Formule E prouve l’influence que peut avoir le championnat sur le développement des voitures électriques. Jaguar amène avec elle de nombreux passionnés qui renforceront la popularité du championnat partout dans le monde et qui, encore une fois, démontrent que la Formule E est l’avenir du sport automobile. »

Pour suivre les développements de la nouvelle écurie Jaguar Formula E Racing Team, cliquez ci-dessous pour entrer vos détails personnels.