Skip primary navigation
skip.tertiary.navigation

THE I-TYPE

THE I-TYPE 2

The I-TYPE 2 is Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s all-electric Formula E race vehicle. Designed to deliver the ultimate balance of power and efficiency, it accelerates from 0-100km/h in 2.9 seconds and can regenerate up to 150kW of energy under braking to extend its range. Discover more about the vehicle’s components below

THE FACTS

Throughout practice and qualifying sessions, maximum power is permitted. During races, however, power-saving mode will apply with the 'Push-to-Pass' system temporarily allowing maximum power for a limited period of 5 seconds.

The amount of energy that can be delivered to the Motor-Generator Unit (MGU) by the RESS is limited to 28 kw/h. This will be permanently monitored by the FIA.

Max Power (Limited):
200kW, equivalent to 270 hp

Race Mode (Power Saving):
170kW, equivalent to 230 hp

FanBoost:
Up to 200kW

0-100 km/h
under 3 seconds

Overall Length:
5,000 mm (max)

Overall Width:
1,800 mm (max)

Overall Height:
1,250 mm (max)

Max Speed:
225 km/h

Track Width
1,300 mm (min)

Ride Height
74 mm (max)

Minimum Weight (inc driver):
880 kg (min) - Batteries alone 320 kg

POWER UNIT

Jaguar Racing’s 200kW power unit is made up of a Motor Generator Unit (MGU) and a Motor Control Unit (MCU). The MCU efficiently converts DC current from the battery into high density AC current, allowing the MGU to propel the car to its maximum speed of 225km/h.

SUSPENSION

Essential to fast lap times is precision handling, especially on Formula E’s city centre race tracks. The I-TYPE 2 is equipped with pushrod operated double wishbone front suspension, with twin dampers and torsion bars. At the rear is a coilover suspension system with four way dampers. The ride height, dampers, camber, toe and anti- roll bars are all adjustable to optimise the set up for each track.

BRAKES

As much as possible, drivers will reduce speed on the approach to a corner using regenerative braking. However, additional stopping power is also needed for lower speed corners. Any unwanted speed is immediately scrubbed off by the I-TYPE 2’s carbon brakes, utilising two separate hydraulic systems to allow the driver to adjust the front to rear balance.

WHEELS & TIRES

Providing optimum grip at racing speeds in both wet and dry conditions is a set of bespoke 18” treaded Michelin tires.

Max width - front 260 mm / rear 305 mm
Max diameter – front 650 mm / rear 690 mm

GEARBOX

To turn instant torque from the power unit into instant acceleration, the I-TYPE 2 has a lightweight two gear Jaguar Racing Sequential Gearbox operated with a paddle shift. The gear ratios devised by Jaguar Racing provide the fastest, smoothest path from grid to top speed.

RESS

The Rechargeable Energy Storage System (RESS) is a high-voltage, liquid-cooled battery that supplies energy to the Power Unit. Before the race, it is charged externally, but is also charged during the race via regenerative braking that can harvest as much as seven laps’ worth of energy during a race.

THE I‑PACE CONCEPT

The expertise and innovation we develop for our Formula E race cars is coming to the road in the second half of 2018. The I‑PACE Concept is a preview of the first all-electric production vehicle from Jaguar – a 5-seater performance SUV that delivers 516 lb‑ft of instant torque, 400 HP and 0‑100km/h in around 4 seconds.3

EXPLORE JAGUAR I‑PACE CONCEPT

JAGUAR I-TYPE: THE STORY SO FAR

Follow the Panasonic Jaguar Racing Team from testing to race.

FOLLOW US

For exclusive insider access to the team, the vehicles and the action, follow us via the links below.

FOLLOW US

For exclusive insider access to the team, the vehicles and the action, follow us via the links below.

*All pricing and figures for acceleration, power, speed, range and charging are Manufacturer’s estimates based on best information available at time of publication. Jaguar I‑PACE production vehicles will be tested and certified prior to release, with official figures available prior to any customer order.

1-7  Disclaimers

Skip primary navigation
skip.tertiary.navigation

LA I-TYPE 2

LA I-TYPE 2

La I-TYPE 2 est le véhicule tout électrique de l'équipe Jaguar Panasonic Racing en Formule E. Conçue pour offrir une efficacité et une puissance ultimes et balancées, la I-TYPE 2 est capable de passer de 0 à 100 km/h en 2,9 secondes. Elle génère aussi une énergie allant jusqu'à 150 kW grâce au freinage afin d'augmenter son autonomie. Découvrez-en plus à propos des véhicules ci-dessous.

LES FAITS SAILLANTS

Pendant les pratiques et les séances de qualification, il est permis d’utiliser la puissance maximale. Durant les courses, toutefois, le mode d’économie de puissance sera activé et le système d’accélération « Push-to-Pass » va permettre de profiter temporairement de la puissance maximale pour une durée limitée de cinq secondes.

Le niveau d’énergie qui peut être livré au système moteur-générateur (MGU) par le système RESS est limité à 28 kW/h. Ces données seront surveillées en tout temps par la FIA.

Puissance maximale (limitée):
200 kW, équivalent à 270 ch

Mode de course (économie de puissance) :
170 kW, équivalent à 230 ch

FanBoost:
Jusqu’à 200 kW

De 0 à 100 km/h
en moins de 3 secondes

Longueur hors tout:
5 000 mm (max)

Largeur hors tout:
1 800 mm (max)

Hauteur hors tout:
1 250 mm (max)

Vitesse maximale:
225 km/h

Largeur de voie 
1 300 mm (min)

Hauteur de caisse 
74 mm (max)

Poids minimum (incluant le conducteur):
880 kg (min) / Batteries seules 320 kg

GROUPE DE PUISSANCE

Le groupe de puissance Jaguar Racing de 200 kW est constitué d’un système moteur-générateur (MGU) et d’un système de contrôle du moteur (MCU). Le MCU convertit efficacement le courant continu de la batterie en courant alternatif de haute densité, ce qui permet au MGU de propulser la voiture jusqu’à sa vitesse de pointe de 225 km/h.

SUSPENSION

La conduite de précision est essentielle pour des temps de tour rapides, en particulier sur les pistes de course établies au cœur des villes hôtes de la Formule E. La I-TYPE 2 est équipée d’une suspension avant à double triangle actionnée par poussoir, avec doubles amortisseurs et barres de torsion. L’arrière est doté d’un système de suspension à ressorts avec des amortisseurs à quatre directions. La hauteur de caisse, les amortisseurs, le carrossage, l’alignement et les barres antiretournement sont tous réglables pour s’adapter de façon optimale à chaque circuit.

FREINS

Les pilotes réduisent autant que possible la vitesse à l’approche des virages à l’aide du freinage par récupération. Par contre, une puissance de freinage supplémentaire est également nécessaire pour les virages à basse vitesse. Toute la vitesse indésirable est immédiatement absorbée par les freins en carbone de la I-TYPE 2 à l’aide de deux systèmes hydrauliques distincts. Cela permet au pilote d’ajuster l’équilibre de freinage entre l’avant et l’arrière.

JANTES ET PNEUS

Le train de pneus Michelin à reliefs sur mesure de 18 po assure l’adhérence optimale aux vitesses de course sur pistes humides et sèches.

Largeur maximale – avant de 260 mm / arrière de 305 mm
Diamètre maximal – avant de 650 mm / arrière de 690 mm

TRANSMISSION AUTOMATIQUE

Pour convertir le couple instantané du groupe de puissance en accélération instantanée, la I-TYPE 2 est dotée d’une transmission séquentielle Jaguar Racing ultra-légère à deux rapports actionnée par une palette. Les rapports de vitesses conçus par Jaguar Racing garantissent le chemin le plus rapide et le plus lisse de la grille de départ à la vitesse maximale.

RESS

Le système rechargeable de stockage de l’énergie (RESS) est une batterie haute tension refroidie par liquide, qui fournit l’énergie au groupe de puissance. Si le rechargement de cette batterie a lieu avant la course, elle est ensuite également rechargée durant la course lors des freinages de récupération. Le tout permet de récupérer l’équivalent de sept tours de circuit durant la course.

LE CONCEPT I-PACE

L’expertise et l'innovation que nous développons pour nos voitures de course de Formule E aboutiront sur les routes dans la seconde moitié de 2018. Le concept I‑PACE est un aperçu du premier véhicule de production tout‑électrique de Jaguar, un VUS performant de 5 places avec un couple instantané de 516 lb‑pi, une puissance de 400 ch et une accélération de 0 à 100 km/h autour de 4 secondes.

EXPLOREZ LE CONCEPT JAGUAR I-PACE

LA JAGUAR I-TYPE : L’HISTOIRE JUSQU’À PRÉSENT

Suivez l’équipe Panasonic Jaguar Racing à partir des tests jusqu’aux pistes.

SUIVEZ-NOUS

Pour un accès exclusif à l’écurie, aux voitures et à l’action, suivez-nous en cliquant sur les liens ci-dessous.

SUIVEZ-NOUS

Pour un accès exclusif à l’écurie, aux voitures et à l’action, suivez-nous en cliquant sur les liens ci-dessous.