Skip primary navigation
Jaguar Heritage & Lightweight E-type




What began in 1963, continued in 2015.

The coveted, next-generation ‘Special FT’ Lightweight E-types were originally built with new-style aluminum bodies in the sixties. 18 chassis were planned, but just 12 were built. Some 50 years later, we set out to finish what we started. We dubbed them The Missing Six.

Silver E-Type on Country Road

Recreating a Classic

"With the Lightweight E-type, our focus as a design team has been to ensure justice was done to the original work of Sir William Lyons and Malcolm Sayer. Meticulous attention to detail has been everything to us in re-creating this car, just as it is in our contemporary Jaguar vehicles. I believe the result is a new Lightweight E-type that is as stunning now as the originals."
Ian Callum, Director of Design, Jaguar

The six new Lightweight E-type cars would be a labor of love, with each of the cars being built to the exact specification from the last of the original 12, produced in 1964.

The Missing Six were hand-crafted at the infamous Browns Lane – Jaguar’s production base, where the original Lightweight E-type cars were built. These new models would embody the spirit of the originals – using all of the knowledge and expertise of Jaguar engineers who have been perfecting aluminum body technology, as seen on modern Jaguar models like F-TYPE and XE.

Inside the new Lightweights would be a highly developed version of the straight six engine – the same engine that had powered the C- and D-Type to Le Mans victories.

Test and Learn

An engineering prototype – 'Car Zero' – was completed in 2014 and revealed at the opening reception of the Pebble Beach Automotive weekend, the world's most prestigious classic car event.

Built by the same department that creates Jaguar prototypes, all build processes and assembly procedures were initially proven on Car Zero.

Original Design, Modern Technology

True to the original design, The Missing Six were built using materials and methods seen on the initial 12 Lightweight E-type models. The original design would be aided by modern technology, allowing designers and engineers to ensure the most faithful rendition.

Using Jaguar’s state-of-the-art scanning technology, the inner and outer surfaces of each Lightweight bodyshell were digitally mapped. The hugely detailed scan it produced recorded dimensions and shape down to a fraction of a millimeter. This was assessed by Jaguar's technicians to validate how the body was assembled back in the 1960s, and how the process could be engineered today.

The Result

The attention-to-detail and expertise brought to the project was astounding, and resulted in six new Lightweights that were entirely faithful to the originals.

In recreating the Lightweight E-type, Jaguar Heritage was able to call on the superlative skills and experience of many talented engineers and technicians already working in a variety of departments within Jaguar.

The six chosen customers each became the owners of one of the rarest cars on earth – a brand new Lightweight E-type, hand-built at Browns Lane. Just as desirable as one of the originals.

Skip primary navigation
Jaguar Heritage & Lightweight E-type

E-TYPE LIGHTWEIGHT

skip.tertiary.navigation

E-TYPE LIGHTWEIGHT

Un projet démarré en 1963 et poursuivi en 2015.

Les premières E-Type Lightweight ont été construites avec une carrosserie novatrice en aluminium, dans les années 60. Sur les 18 châssis prévus, seulement 12 furent produits. Un demi-siècle plus tard, nous terminons ce que nous avions commencé avec les nouvelles E-Type Lightweight « Special FT ». Nous les avons surnommées les Missing Six (les « Six manquantes »).

Silver E-Type on Country Road

Recréer un classique

« Concernant le design de la E-Type Lightweight, l’accent a été mis sur la fidélité au modèle de Sir William Lyons et Malcolm Sayer. En recréant cette voiture, nous avons poussé le souci du détail à l’extrême, comme nous le faisons pour nos véhicules actuels. Selon moi, les nouvelles E-Type Lightweight sont aussi exceptionnelles que les originales. »
Ian Callum, directeur du design chez Jaguar

Les six nouvelles E-Type Lightweight sont le fruit d’une vraie passion. Chacune d’elle a été conçue d’après les spécifications exactes des 12 véhicules d’origine produits en 1964.

Les Missing Six ont été fabriquées à la main dans la célèbre base de production Browns Lane de Jaguar, celle qui a vu naître les premières E-Type Lightweight. Grâce à l’expertise des ingénieurs Jaguar, qui ont perfectionné les structures en aluminium que l’on retrouve sur les Jaguar modernes comme les F-Type et XE, ces nouveaux modèles reflètent l’esprit des originaux.

Sous le capot des nouvelles Lightweight siège une version perfectionnée du L6, le moteur qui a propulsé les C-Type et D-Type jusqu’à leur victoire au Mans.

Tester et apprendre

Un prototype technique, la « Voiture zéro », a été terminé en 2014 et dévoilé au public lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture du concours d’élégance automobile de Pebble Beach, le plus prestigieux rassemblement de voitures de collection au monde.

Les E-Type Lightweight ont été construites par le même département que les autres prototypes Jaguar; tous les processus de fabrication et d’assemblage ont d’abord été éprouvés sur la « Voiture zéro ».

Design original, technologies modernes

Les Missing Six respectent le design original des 12 premières E-Type Lightweight; elles ont été construites avec les mêmes matériaux et selon les mêmes procédés. Les concepteurs et les ingénieurs ont veillé à produire des véhicules fidèles au projet d’origine, animés par des technologies modernes.

Grâce à la technologie de balayage perfectionnée de Jaguar, les surfaces intérieures et extérieures de la carrosserie de chaque Lightweight ont été cartographiées numériquement. Parmi les données détaillées obtenues figuraient leur forme et leurs dimensions, au centième de millimètre près. Elles ont été analysées par les techniciens de Jaguar pour comprendre le processus d’assemblage des années 60, et définir celui qui serait utilisé aujourd’hui.

Le résultat

L’expertise et le souci du détail incroyables apportés au projet ont permis de créer six nouvelles Lightweight absolument fidèles au projet d’origine.

Pour recréer la E-Type Lightweight, Jaguar Heritage a fait appel à la vaste expérience et au savoir-faire de nombreux techniciens et ingénieurs travaillant dans différents départements Jaguar.

Six clients sélectionnés sont devenus les heureux propriétaires de l’un des véhicules les plus rares au monde : une E-Type Lightweight flambant neuve, fabriquée à la main à Browns Lane, et tout aussi prisée que les versions originales.

VIVEZ L’EXPÉRIENCE EN IMAGES