Skip primary navigation
Jaguar XE All Wheel Drive

AN INTRODUCTION TO ALL-WHEEL DRIVE

skip.tertiary.navigation

AN INTRODUCTION TO ALL-WHEEL DRIVE

All-wheel drive has become an increasingly popular option, and for many it is the deciding factor in their choice of vehicle. From AWD hatchbacks and AWD sedans, to AWD SUVs and AWD sports cars, the range of vehicles offering it is vast. But what is AWD, and why is it useful?

Firesand Metallic Orange F-TYPE SVR driving on race track

WHAT IS ALL-WHEEL DRIVE?

All-wheel drive gives the driver increased confidence on any road surface and in all weather. The system spreads the power from the engine to all four wheels, instead of just two, providing increased grip. From loose gravel surfaces in mid-summer to icy winter roads, all-wheel-drive vehicles offer greater stability and control.

The system is always active and works continuously without the need for the driver to switch from two-wheel to all-wheel drive.
All-wheel drive isn’t just safer - its superior traction delivers more dynamic handling and greater composure when engaged in more spirited driving.

Caesium Blue F-PACE driving on road

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ALL-WHEEL DRIVE VS. 4-WHEEL DRIVE

AWD systems are controlled more by electronics than by mechanical parts and are fitted primarily to road cars. It is designed to ensure optimum traction while driving on all different road surfaces in all kinds of weather. By contrast, 4WD systems are more complex and equipped with more mechanical parts. They are fitted to vehicles designed for extreme off-roading, enabling them to negotiate boulders, traverse deep water and climb steep hills.

Jaguar range image F-PACE, XF, XE, XJ and F-TYPE

JAGUAR ALL-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEMS

Every car in the Jaguar range is available as All-Wheel Drive. Our flagship luxury sedan, the XJ, is offered with Torque-On-Demand AWD. All our other cars - the F TYPE, XE, XF and F PACE - are fitted with our innovative and unique Intelligent Driveline Dynamics AWD. Both systems are engineered so that in normal driving conditions, 90% of the torque is committed to the back wheels. This ensures that every one of our AWD cars retains the dynamic rear-wheel-drive feel for an enjoyable Jaguar driving experience.

When the systems detect that more traction is needed, they seamlessly transfer as much torque as is required to the front wheels to improve stability. The systems are constantly working to find the optimum balance of traction and performance, so the moment they establish that additional traction is no longer required, power is returned to the rear axle.

INTELLIGENT DRIVELINE DYNAMICS

Developed exclusively for the F-TYPE, XE, XF and F-PACE, Jaguar AWD with Intelligent Driveline Dynamics (IDD) is unique among all-wheel-drive systems. While other all-wheel-drive systems become active only after the car loses traction, Jaguar AWD with IDD is predictive. If it calculates that grip will imminently be lost, it preemptively shifts torque to the wheels that have better traction to maintain control and composure before it happens.

DISCOVER MORE
Italian Racing Red Jaguar XE driving on road
All wheel drive XJ driving on snowy mountain road

TORQUE‑ON‑DEMAND

Our advanced Torque On Demand All-Wheel Drive system is offered on the Jaguar XJ. Its highly responsive technology is designed to deliver torque to the wheels that have the most traction for an uninterrupted, refined, agile performance. Maximum grip and control for confident handling in all weathers, on all surfaces.

PERFORMANCE ENHANCED

Beyond just improving all weather driving on lower traction surfaces, Jaguar AWD systems enhances driving performance in dry conditions. Whether you’re in the F TYPE, XE, XF or F PACE, and whether you’re on an open country road or out on the track, you’ll feel the benefits of Jaguar AWD through every corner.

Firesand Orange Metallic F-TYPE driving on road

Skip primary navigation

INTRODUIRE NOTRE TRACTION INTÉGRALE

skip.tertiary.navigation

UNE INTRODUCTION À LA TRACTION INTÉGRALE

La traction intégrale (TI) est devenue une option populaire grandissante, et pour plusieurs, il s’agit d’un facteur décisif pour l'achat de leur véhicule. Qu’ils s’agissent de berlines, VUS et voitures sport, tous à traction intégrale, la gamme de véhicules qui offrent la TI est très vaste. Qu’est-ce que la TI et pourquoi est-elle utile?

Firesand Metallic Orange F-TYPE SVR driving on race track

QU'EST-CE QUE LA TRACTION INTÉGRALE?

La traction intégrale offre au conducteur une confiance accrue sur chaque surface et chaque température. Le système répand la puissance du moteur jusqu’aux quatre roues, au lieu de deux roues seulement, offrant une adhérence accrue. Des terrains de gravier, de neige ou d’automne, les véhicules à traction intégrale offrent une meilleure stabilité et un contrôle accru.

Ce système est toujours actif et travaille en continu sans avoir besoin du conducteur pour changer du deux roues à la traction intégrale.
La traction intégrale n’est pas seulement plus sécuritaire, sa traction supplémentaire offre plus de maniabilité lors d’une conduite vive.

Caesium Blue F-PACE driving on road

DIFFÉRENCES ENTRE UNE TRACTION INTÉGRALE ET LES QUATRE ROUES MOTRICES

La traction intégrale est contrôlée principalement par les systèmes électroniques, au lieu des systèmes mécaniques, et est normalement sur les véhicules de route. Elle est conçue pour assurer une traction optimale tout en conduisant sur différentes surfaces et températures. En revanche, les systèmes à quatre roues motrices sont plus complexes, et sont composés de plus d’éléments mécaniques. Ils sont équipés sur les véhicules conçus pour les aventures hors route extrêmes, ce qui leur permettent de négocier les terrains rocheux, de traverser des eaux profondes et de gravir des montagnes apiques.

Jaguar range image F-PACE, XF, XE, XJ and F-TYPE

LES SYSTÈMES À TRACTION INTÉGRALE DE JAGUAR

Chaque voiture de la gamme Jaguar est disponible avec la traction intégrale. Notre berline de luxe emblématique, la XJ, est offerte avec la traction intégrale à couple sur demande. Toutes nos autres voitures, la F‑TYPE, la XE, la XF et le F‑PACE, sont équipées de notre traction intégrale intelligente innovatrice et unique. Chaque système est conçu pour que 90 % du couple soit dédié à l'arrière des roues lors des conditions de conduite normales. C’est ce qui assure que chacune de nos voitures à traction intégrale garde le dynamisme d'un système à propulsion, afin de permettre une expérience de conduite Jaguar palpitante.

Lorsque les systèmes détectent qu’une traction intégrale est nécessaire, ils transfèrent le plus de couple requis aux roues avant pour améliorer la stabilité. Ils travaillent aussi constamment à trouver la balance optimale de traction et de performance. Ainsi, lorsqu’ils ont établi une balance de traction nécessaire, la puissance est réenvoyée aux roues arrière.

TRANSMISSION DYNAMIQUE INTELLIGENTE

La traction intégrale Jaguar avec la transmission dynamique intelligente (IDD) est unique parmi tous les systèmes de traction intégrale. D'ailleurs, elle est développée exclusivement pour la F-TYPE, la XE, la XF et le F-PACE. Alors que d’autres systèmes à traction intégrale sont activés seulement lorsque la voiture perd sa traction, la TI avec IDD est prévoyante. Si elle juge que l’adhérence sera perdue, elle va appliquer un couple aux roues pour prévenir, et pour obtenir une meilleure traction afin de maintenir le contrôle et la maniabilité avant que cela se produise.

DÉCOUVREZ-EN PLUS
Italian Racing Red Jaguar XE driving on road
All wheel drive XJ driving on snowy mountain road

COUPLE SUR DEMANDE

Notre traction intégrale à couple sur demande avancée est offerte sur la Jaguar XJ. Sa technologie très réceptive est conçue pour offrir un couple aux roues qui ont la plus de traction pour une performance ininterrompue, raffinée et agile. Elle offre d'ailleurs une adhérence optimale et un contrôle accru pour une maniabilité confiante en toute température et tout terrain.

PERFORMANCE AMÉLIORÉE

En plus d’améliorer la conduite toute température sur des surfaces à faible traction, les systèmes à traction intégrale de Jaguar augmentent les performances de conduite. Que ce soit à bord de la F-TYPE, de la XE, de la XF ou du F-PACE, dans un environnement hors route ou sur les pistes, vous sentirez que les bénéfices de la traction intégrale de Jaguar se retrouvent partout.

Firesand Orange Metallic F-TYPE driving on road